Oct. 12th, 2005
I've always wondered how the rule that allows batters to run to first after the catcher misses strike 3 is phrased in the rulebook. I finally dug in and found it.
6.05
A batter is out when_ [...] (b) A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. [...] If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first.
6.09
The batter becomes a runner when_ [...] (b) The third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing (1) first base is unoccupied, or (2) first base is occupied with two out; When a batter becomes a base runner on a third strike not caught by the catcher and starts for the dugout, or his position, and then realizes his situation and attempts then to reach first base, he is not out unless he or first base is tagged before he reaches first base. If, however, he actually reaches the dugout or dugout steps, he may not then attempt to go to first base and shall be out.
So, that Escobar pitch that Pierzynski swung through for strike 3, did it hit the ground before Paul caught it? I won't say what i think. All i know is that i can't think of a crazier play in baseball in my experience.
I've always wondered how the rule that allows batters to run to first after the catcher misses strike 3 is phrased in the rulebook. I finally dug in and found it.
6.05
A batter is out when_ [...] (b) A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. [...] If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first.
6.09
The batter becomes a runner when_ [...] (b) The third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing (1) first base is unoccupied, or (2) first base is occupied with two out; When a batter becomes a base runner on a third strike not caught by the catcher and starts for the dugout, or his position, and then realizes his situation and attempts then to reach first base, he is not out unless he or first base is tagged before he reaches first base. If, however, he actually reaches the dugout or dugout steps, he may not then attempt to go to first base and shall be out.
So, that Escobar pitch that Pierzynski swung through for strike 3, did it hit the ground before Paul caught it? I won't say what i think. All i know is that i can't think of a crazier play in baseball in my experience.